1852 Town of Palmyra Minutes

At the annual town meeting of the town of Palmyra held pursuant to the adjournment at the Bunker Hill Hotel kept by Salmon H. Skinner in the village of Palmyra on Tuesday April 6, 1852 Present presiding, Isaac E. Beecher, Wm. H. Southwick, Ambrose Salisbury and Frederick Smith Justices of the Peace in and for said town. Henry S. Flower Town Clerk It was

VOTED that the Supervisor be instructed to refund the following erroneous taxes to, Levi Warner \$5.80 for error in transcribing by Clerk of board of Supervisors To John Jones \$7.25 on property assessed in town of Maceden and the tax paid in that Town

VOTED that the report of the Supervisor and Town Clerk be accepted

VOTED that the Supervisor be instructed to pay Salmon H. Skinner five dollars for the use of his house at this town meeting

VOTED that the report of the Commissioners of Highways be accepted and adopted and that two hundred dollars be raised in addition to the amount allowed by law for the repairs of Roads and Bridges

VOTED that the next annual town meeting be held at the house now occupied by Wm. Doran in the Village of Palmyra called Eagle Hotel, to be no charge for the use of house The following named persons having received the greatest number of votes were declared duly elected to the several and respective offices for which they are respectively named To wit. Supervisor---Pomeroy Tucker, Town Clerk---Henry S. Flower, Justice of the Peace----James Peddie, Commissioner of Highways----Nelson Reeves, Superintendent of Common Schools---Horace Cummings, Assessor----Samuel Miller Jr., Overseer of the Poor----Elisha Flower, Collector----John C. Calhoon, Inspectors of Election District No.1 Charles E. Thurber and Wm. H. Cuyler, Inspectors of Election District No.2----Charles Hudson and Isaac Howell, Constables----Charles Hudson, John C. Cahoon, Walter Stevens, David P. Sanford

The following named persons were duly chosen Path masters or overseers of the Highway in and for the respective districts to which they are names;

District No.1 Wm. F. Parke, No.2 James Galloway, No.3 Frank Garvey, No.4 Wm. Wilcox, No.5 Thomas Galloway, No.6 I. D. Rogers, No.7 James Walton, No.8 Ambrose Salisbury, No.9 Luther Sanford, No.10 Saml. H. Post, No.11 Elijah Ennis, No.12 Geo. Brown, No.13 Martin Winslow, No.14 Saml. Sherman, No.15 Stephen Bromfield, No.16 Luther B. Jagger, No.17 M. D. Cole, No.18 Allen G. Robison, No.19 Caleb Beals, No.20 John Jagger, No.21 Perry Parker, No.22 Ira Greenwood No.23 Jas. R. Sanford, No.24 A. D. Bromfield, No. 25 Asa White, No.26 Sidney Hickox No.27 D. J. Rossman, No.29 Franklin Lakey, No.30 Luther Benton, No.31 Thos. Rioneer, No.32 Barzilla Smith, No.33 Foster Soper, No.34 Edwin Stacy, No.35 Jeter Jagger, No.36 John Beals, No.37 Geo. Evans, No.38 David Johnson, No.40 J. C. Pettit We the board of Town officers of the town of Palmyra at the annual town meeting held therein on the 6th day of April 1852 do certify that we have and so hereby appoint the following names persons to be Inspectors of Election respectively in the two election Districts to wit. Samuel Palmer to be one of the Inspectors of Election in and for district No.1 and Henry J. Foster to be one of the Inspectors of election in and for dist. No. 2, in the town of Palmyra a foresaid the said Palmer and Foster having received the greatest number of votes for Inspectors of Election next to the Inspectors duly elected by the people

Isaac E. Beecher, Ambrose Salisbury, Wm. H. Southwick, Frederick Smith, Justices H. S. Flower Town Clerk

I certify the preceeding to be a true copy of the original on file in this office April 10 H. S. Flower, Town Clerk

Appointment of Path Master

Wayne County

Town of Palmyra

By virtue of the powers vested in the Commissioners of Highways of the said town and pursuant to the statute in such cases made and provided, we do by these presents appoint the following names persons as overseers of highways in and for road districts No 19, 3, and 30 to supply the vacancies occasioned by the refusal of Frank Garvey No 3, Caleb Beals No 19, Luther P. Benton No 30 to serve to wit. George Luce Dist. No 19, Merritt Sherman No 3, Frank Garvey No 30

Dated Palmyra May 1st 1852 Jas. P. Horton and Saml. Miller Jr. Comm. Of Highways A true copy of the original filed in this office May 1st 1852 H. S. Flower Town Clerk