1849 Town of Palmyra Minutes

At the annual town meeting of the town of Palmyra held pursuant to adjournment at the public house kept by Wm. P. Nottingham in the village of Palmyra on Tuesday the third day of April 1849;

Present presiding Ambrose Salisbury, Wm. H. Southwick, Isaac E. Beecher, Fred Smith, Justices of the Peace in and for said town Amos C. Sanford Town Clerk, it was

Voted; That four constables be chosen for the ensuing year.

Voted; That the Supervisor be instructed to pay Wm. P. Nottingham ten dollars for use of house at this and previous town meetings and elections.

Voted; That the Supervisor be instructed to refund to Uriah McClave two dollars for tax illegally assessed upon a slut.

Voted; That the Supervisor be instructed to refund two dollars to Marcus D. Cole for tax paid by him on slut.

Voted; That ten cents for head bounty be paid by the Supervisor for all crows killed in the town previous to the 4th day of July next. (Evidence at his discretion.)

Voted; That the Supervisor be directed to supply the town sealer with correct standards of weights and measures.

Voted; That the Supervisor be authorised to re-inter any bodies (human) that may become exhumed in the town burying ground and to secure the said ground from intrusion.

Voted; That two hundred dollars, in addition to the sum allowed by law, be raised in the legal manner to pay for constructing and repairing roads and bridges.

Voted; That when this meeting adjourns it shall adjourn to meet at the Bunker Hill Hotel on the first Tuesday of April next at 9 o'clock A.M.

The report of the Commissioner of Highways was read and accepted.

The report of A. C. Sanford Town Clerk, of bills audited and paid and moneys on hand was read and accepted.

The following named persons having received the greatest number of votes were declared duly elected to the several and respective offices for which they are respectively named, to whit;

Thomas W. Gurney
Amos C. Sanford
Charles B. Bingham
Frederick Smith
James Galloway
Hazard W. Rogers
Lester O. Godard
Charles Hudson
James Reeves
William Walton
Charles E. Thurber
A. G. Myrick
John Williamson
Jerome Stacy
Elisha Flower
William H. Jackways

The following named persons were duly chosen pathmasters or Overseers of Highways in and for the respective districts to which they are named.

District			Distil	ji –		
No	No. 1 Benjamin Saunders		No. 2	Jar	nes	Walker
"	3	Isaac Besly		"	4	James Van Ness
"	5	Thos. Galloway		"	6	Samuel Acker
"	7	Wm. Palmer (penciled in:		"	8	Hiram Foster

" 7 Wm. Palmer (penciled in: Cornelius Tullman)

- ٢٢ 9 Luther Sanford
- ςς 11 George Brown
- ςς 13 John Jordan
- " 15 Jas. A. Shaw
- ςς 17 Lorenzo Parker ςς
 - 19 Jacob Norris
 - " 21 Wm. Durfee
- " 23 Arza S. Pulman
- Geo. Wilcox (penciled
 - in: attached to No. 11)

٢,

- " 25 Rufus Sweezy
 - " 26 Wm. Van Husen
 - 27 John McDuffie
 - " 28 Samuel Adams
- " 29 Samuel Wilber
 - " 30 Halsey Foster
 - 31 Moses Hill

"

"

"

"

- " 32 Aaron Hazen
- " 33 Allan Sherman
 - " 34 Maltby Clark
- " 35 Cyrenus Jagger
 - " 36 Newton Foster
 - 37 Geo. Evans
 - " 38 Thos. W. Beebe
 - 39 (left blank)
 - 40 Robert Hunt

We, the board of Town Officers of the town of Palmyra at the annual town meeting held therein the 3rd day of April 1849 do certify that we have and do hereby appoint the following named persons to be Inspectors of Elections respectively in the two election districts of said town, to wit; Peter M. Stupplebeen to be one of the inspectors of elections in district number One and Byram G. Sherman to be one of the inspectors of elections in district Number Two in the town of Palmyra aforesaid, the said P. M. Stupplebeen and B. G. Sherman having received the greatest number of votes for inspectors of election next to the inspectors duly elected by the people.

Fredk Smith

A. Salisbury

Justices

I. T. Beecher

Wm. H. Southwick

A. C. Sanford

Clerk

- I certify the preceding to be a true copy of the original on file in this office filed April 4th 1849 and recorded April 5th 1849 A. C. Sanford
- Town Clerk
- Wayne County }

- ςς 10 Samuel Post
- ςς 12 George W. Smith
- ٢٢ 14 Isaac G. Hudson
- 16 Harman Chapman
 - " 18 Timothy Tripp
- 20 Wm. Rowley Jr.
 - " 22 Samuel Sanford

" 24 Town of Palmyra}

By virtue of the powers vested in us Commissioners of Highways of said town and pursuant to the statutes in such cases made and provided we do these presents appoint the following named persons as overseers of Highways in and for Road District No. 4-6-18-35 to supply the vacancies occasioned by the refusal of Samuel Acker, Timothy Tripp, and Cyrenus Jagger to serve and James Van Ness taken in to the village of Palmyra to wit C. C. Thompson for District No. 4, H. W. Rogers No. 6, Truman Clark No. 18, Jeter Jagger No 35.

Palmyra May 10 1849

Jas. P. Horton Commissioners S. Hildreth of James Galloway Highways A true copy of the original on file in this office May 10, 1849

A. C. Sanford Town Clerk