1878 Palmyra Town Meeting Minutes

At a meeting of the Town Board of the town of Palmyra held this 26th day of February 1878, at the Village Hall in the said town Present: George G. Jessup, Wm. H. Southwick,

And Marck C. Finley Justices of the Peace and F. Wayland Foster Town Clerk, George Harrison Supervisor presented his Report for the year, which upon examination proved correct ordered to be placed on file.

On motion the Board adjourned sine die

I certify the above minutes to be a true record of the business transacted at the said meeting F. W. Foster---Town Clerk

Annual Town Meeting Minutes 1878

At the annual Town meeting held in the Village of Palmyra, at Village Hall in said Village, in and for the town of Palmyra on Tuesday March 5, 1878

Present presiding

Wm. H. Southwick, George G. Jessup, Henry J. Foster, Marck C. Finley---Justices S. W. Foster—Town Clerk

At 8 o'clock A.M. the polls of the election were declared open and the electors proceeded to vote. At 1:30 P.M. the Report of the Commissioners of Highways and Town Auditors were read and adopted. Resolved—That the sum of Three thousand dollars be raised by tax upon the taxable inhabitants of the town of Palmyra for the support of the Poor.

We, the undersigned presiding officers of the Annual Town Meeting held March 5th 1878, do hereby certify that the following persons were duly elected to the offices set opposite their respective names, they having received the highest number of votes for said office George Harrison

Supervisor

F. Wayland Foster

Town Clerk

Ornon Archer

Justice of the Peace

Marvin Hill

Com. Of Highway

Gilbert Oliver

Overseer of Poor

William W. Possee

Collector

Byron Johnson

Assessor

Eugene Conant

Constable

Chas. J. Grant

.

Marvin D. Whipple

"

Albert Sherman

Alfred Tibbett

Game Constable

Edgar W. Cummings Of Election Dist. No. 1 William H. Bump Insp.

William Irish

Insp. Of Election Dist. No. 2

Anson Hillimire

Hendee Parshall

Town Auditor

Henry M. Clark

"

Joseph S. Williamson

Sealer

William C. Beal

Excise Commissioner

We do hereby appoint Geo. McGown in Election District No. 1 and Frederick L. Reeves in Election District No. 2 in said Town Inspectors of Election in said Districts respectively, to be associated with the two in each of said districts who have this day been elected Inspectors of Election. The said George McGown and Frederick L. Reeves each being one of the persons who received the highest numbers of votes for said office, next to those elected.

We also appoint James Reeves one of the Board of Town Auditors elected, he having received the highest number of votes for said office, next to those there to elected.

On motion the Board adjourned sine die

Dated Palmyra N.Y. March 5, 1878

Wm. H. Southwick, M. C. Finley, H. J. Foster, Geo. G. Jessup---Justices of the Peace A true copy of the original minutes now on file

F. W. Foster Town Clerk

Town