1872 Palmyra Annual Town Meeting Minutes

At an adjourned meeting the Board of Town Auditors held at the M. C. Finleys office March 2nd 1872 Present: Wm. Foster, Supervisor, M. C. Finley, T. S. Jackson, Jas. Reeves, Justices Jas. B. Beckwith Town Clerk

The amended report of the Highway Commissioners was read and accepted I certify that the above is correct

Jas. B. Beckwith Town Clerk

At the annual Town Meeting held at Palmyra Hall in the Village in and for the town of Palmyra on the 5th day of March 1872

Present Presiding: M. C. Finley, James Reeves, M. Hopkins, T. S. Jackson—Justices Jas. B. Beckwith –Town Clerk

At 8 o'clock A.M. the polls of the Town Meeting were opened by proclamation and the electors proceeded to vote.

At 3 o'clock P.M. the Supervisors and Highway Commissioners reports were read On motion Voted that the Supervisors report as read be accepted and adopted On motion Voted that the sum of \$1500 Fifteen hundred dollars be raised by tax for the support of the poor for the ensuing year

On motion Voted that the Highway Commissioners report as read be accepted and(\$500) Five hundred dollars were voted for a wooden bridge at Harrison's Mills, and other appropriations recommended therein were adopted

We the Officers presiding at the annual Town Meeting held March 5th 1872 do hereby certify that the following persons were duly elected to the respective offices set opposite their names, they having received the greatest number of votes for each of the said offices respectively,

Henry P. Knowles---Supervisor, James B. Beckwith---Town Clerk, William H. Southwick---Justice, Alanson Sherman---Overseer of Poor, Gurden T. Smith---Assessor,

Ira Lakey---Commissioner of Highways, Orsimus T. Bates---Collector, Orsimus T. Bates, Horace Pullman, Asher S. Cray, William Tibbets---Constables, Horace Pullman---Game Constable, S. B. Mc Intyre & Geo. Mc Gown---Inspectors of Election District No.1, John E. Feller & Lucius Clark---Inspectors of Election District No.2, Joseph S. Williamson---Town Sealer

And that the foregoing minutes of the said Town Meeting are in all respects correct Dated March 5, 1872

Mark C. Finley, T. S. Jackson, James Reeves, Murganzy Hopkins—Justices Jas. B. Beckwith-Town Clerk

We the undersigned presiding officers of the annual Town Meeting held in and for the town of Palmyra March 5th 1872 do hereby appoint Albert Niles in election district No.1 and Peter C. Howell in election district No.2 in said town, Inspectors of election in said districts respectively to be associated with the two each in the said districts respectively who have this day been elected Inspectors of Election for the ensuing year. The said Albert Niles and Peter C. Howell each being one of the persons who received at the said town meeting the highest number of votes respectively for the office of Inspectors of Election next to the Inspectors so elected

Dated Palmyra March 5, 1872

Mark C. Finley, T. S. Jackson, James Reeves, Murganzy Hopkins—Justices James B. Beckwith---Town Clerk

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a correct copy of the original minutes on file in this office James B. Beckwith Town Clerk

At a meeting of the Town Board held March 9th 1872

Present: Wm. Foster, Supervisor, Mark C. Finley, T. S. Jackson, M. Hopkins, Jas.

Reeves—Justices, James B. Beckwith—Town Clerk

The bond of Henry P. Knowles, Supervisor elect was approved and signed. The board then adjourned till March 16th 1872

I certify that the above is correct. Jas. B. Beckwith Town Clerk

At a meeting of the Town Board held March 16th 1872

Present: Henry. P. Knowles, Supervisor, M. C. Finley, M. Hopkins, T. S. Jackson,

James Reeves—Justices, Jas. B. Beckwith—Town Clerk

John Manders of East Palmyra was appointed to act as constable for the ensuing year in the place of William Tibbits who failed to qualify

George Brown of Palmyra was also appointed to act as constable for the ensuing year in the place of Orsimus L. Bates who failed to qualify

The Board then adjourned till the first Monday in May.

I certify that the above is correct Jas. B. Beckwith Town Clerk

At a meeting of the Highway Commissioners of the Town of Palmyra held at M. C. Finleys office March 11, 1872 the following persons were appointed Overseers of Highways for the districts set opposite their respective names

Districts No.1 Simon Veeder, No.2 Anson Hilamire, No.3 Merrit Sherman,

No.4 E. M. Holmes, No.5 Eson Cornell, No.6 Michael Nolan, No.7 Allen T. Goldsmith,

No.8 Lucius H. Clark, No.9 Amos Irish, No.10 C. D. Foster, No.11 George Townsend,

No.12 Israel Moshrer, No.13 Theadore Jordan, No.14 Peter Whitbeck,

No.15 James L. Durfee, No.16 Jeter Warner, No.17 E. A. Vanalstine,

No.18 Thos. Guy, No.19 George Luce, No.20 Cyrenus Jagger, No.21 Marvin Hill,

No.22 Henry Burr, No.23 Adam Rutherford, No.24 R. I. Parshall, No.25 Eugene

Brewster, No.26 Addison I. Lane, No.27 Barzilla Smith Jr., No.28 Samuel A. Miller,

No.29 I. M. Hammond, No.30 Homer Danforth, No.31 A. E. Wentworth,

No.32 John Harris, No.33 James Reeves, No.34 Maltby Clark, No.35 David P. Gamble,

No.36 Joel W. Hardy, No.37 James Davis, No.38 H. W. Palmer,

No.39 Jacob Jen Englestin, No.40 Geo. Harrison, No.41 Geo. A. Alling

At a meeting of the Board of Town Auditors held at M. C. Finleys office Nov. 9, 1872

Present: H. P. Knowles, Supervisor, M. C. Finley, James Reeves, M. Hopkins,

T. S. Jackson—Justices, J. B. Beckwith-Town Clerk

The following accounts were audited as per s? on file in this office

		Claimed	Allowed
Wm. B. Brown	Physician	14.00	14.00
C. M. Kingman	"	16.50	15.75
M. C. Adams	"	10.25	10.25
Reeves	"	67.00	65.00
Miss Adams	"	31.62	21.62
J. S. House	"	23.00	13.00
J. M. Besley	"	20.50	20.50
A. W. Marsh	"	14.00	13.50
R. S. Williams	Rent	21.75	21.75

Garner Wood Mrs S. Allen Wm. Bushell Robt. Johnson Michael Shanley Wm. Bushell Wm. F. Jarvis A. Sherman Jeter Warner G. T. Smith S. B. Mc Intrye **Albert Niles** Geo. M. Gowan James Bowne Wm. W. Myrick P. C. Howell L. H. Clark John E. Feller Albert W. Beal H. J. Foster J. B. McIntyre Albert Sherman A. P. Marshall George Brown Geo. W. Sellick Geo. Harrison Ira Lakey Elijah Ennis W. F. Paige O. S. Stevens Wm. M. Smith J. H. Gilbert John Favor E. S. Averill F. W. Clemons Geo. Wheeler Wm. Smith Trustee " J. G. Webster St Pat. Or Ass. H. D. Goodanough Calvin Seeley DOG FUND John Walton Albert Pierce James C. Clark

" " " " Assessor " " Ispec. of Elect. Dist. No.1	$\begin{array}{r} 43.00\\ 39.00\\ 17.00\\ 13.00\\ 53.00\\ 27.00\\ 27.00\\ 84.00\\ 14.37\\ 16.00\\ 6.00\end{array}$	43.00 39.00 17.00 13.00 53.00 27.00 27.00 84.00 14.37 16.00 6.00
	6.00	6.00
	6.00	6.00
Clerk " " " "	6.00	6.00
	6.00	6.00
Ispec. """ No		4.00
	4.00	4.00
	4.00	4.00
Clerk " " " "	4.00	4.00
Louwer	4.00 15.00	4.00 15.00
Lawyer School Dist. No. 14	8.00	8.00
Constable	5.75	5.75
"	52.00	52.00
"	15.68	15.68
Road Commis.	41.00	41.00
и и	36.00	36.00
دد دد	22.52	22.52
Constable	20.50	20.50
Excise Board	30.00	30.00
"	30.00	30.00
	30.00	30.00
Burrying	5.00	5.00
Printing	9.00	9.00
Saxtan	5.50 2.00	2.00 2.00
Sexton Rent	75.00	2.00 75.00
Use of Lock Up	9.75	9.75
Board	33.00	33.00
"	47.28	47.28
Undertaker	23.00	23.00
Rent	28.00	28.00
Refund on Dog Tax	3.00	3.00
""""	1.00	1.00
Sheep killed damage	23.00	23.00

James Hurlbert " " " 31.00 31.00 Christ. Belty " 34.50 34.50

On motion Voted that a tax of \$650.00 Hundred & Fifty dollars be raised to be appropriated by the Highway Commissioners to build a bridge over Mud Creek near the Brewery in the Village I certify that the above is correct. James B. Beckwith Town Clerk

"

"