Minute Book, Volume 5 Tuesday 4th of April, 1848

1848

At the annual town meeting in the town of Palmyra held pursuant to adjournment at the house occupied by Butler Newton in the village of Palmyra on Tuesday the 4th day of April 1848

Persuant Presiding Ambrose Salisbury, Isaac E Beecher, W H Southwick Esq, Justice of the peace in and for said town Edwin M Anderson Town Clerk it vas

Voted – that four constables be chosen for the ensuing year

Voted – that the supervisor pay John Chapman the amount of tax overpaid by said Chapman for the year 1847

Voted – that the supervisors pay to Rev E A Plath? The amount of tax overpaid by said E A Platt? For year 1847

The report of the commissioners of highways having been read upon recommendation of said commissioners it vas

Voted – the supervisor be authorized and directed to raise by tax on said town the sum of three hundred and fifty dollars in addition to the sum allowed by law to pay for constructing and repairing roads and bridges

Voted – resolved that the supervisor be requested to institute an immediate and thorough search for the recent? of this town and that there be an? to? any necessary? for that object at the cost of the town

The following persons having received the highest number of votes are declared duly elected to the several and respective offices for which they are respectively named to wit:

Agustus Elmendorf – Supervisor

Amos C Sanford – Town Clerk

William H Southwick - Justice of the Peace

William Foster – Town Superintendent

Hendee Parshall – Assessor

Hazard W Rodgers

John H Gilbert – Inspectors of election district no 1

Charles Hudson

George Harrison – Inspectors of election district no 2

Shadrach Hildreth – Commissioner of Highways

Elisha Flower – Overseer of the Poor

William Walton - Town Sealer

William Drake - Collector

John Williamson

Walter Stephens

John S Brown

Durfee A Sherman – Constables

The following persons were duly chosen path master on overseer of highways in and for the respective district in which they are named

1 – William Parh

2 – James Galloway

3 – David Johnson

- 4 Josiah Drake
- 5 Thomas Galloway
- 6 Rosman G Gordon?
- 7 Willard Pulman?
- 8 A Salisbury
- 9 Tripp Ellisson
- 10 George Harrison
- 11 George Brown
- 12 Peter Stupplebeen
- 13 James J Bromfield
- 14 Joab Drake
- 15 James A Shaw
- 16 Paul Jangger?
- 17 Seymen I Monroe
- 18 Stephen Mosien?
- 19 William Snee?
- 20 William Post
- 21 Gurdon G Smith
- 22 Ira Greenwood
- 23 James R Sanford
- 24 George Wilcox
- 25 Rufus Sweezey
- 26 William VanHusen
- 27 Jacob M Hammond
- 28 Natheniel Crandall
- 29 A F Suchey?
- 30 Luther R Benton
- 31 Silus Taber?
- 32 ? Smith?
- 33 Jacob Sherman
- 34 Edwin Stacev
- 35 William Tripp
- 36 John Beal
- 37 George Evans
- 38 Charles M Addams
- 39 Silvester Westfall
- 40 Robert Hunt

We the board of town officers of the town of Palmyra at the annual town meeting held therein on the 4th day of April 1848 do certify that we have and do hereby appoint the following named persons to be inspectors of elections repsectively in two election districts to wit Samuel Palmer one of the inspectors of election for the election district number one in said town of Palmyra and Jacob Norris one of the Inspectors of election for district number 2 in Palmyra aforesaid the said Samuel Palmer and Jacob Norris having received the greatest number of votes for inspectors of election for the inspection district for which they are named? so the inspector next of the inspection duly elected by the people.

Given under our hands at Palmyra in town meeting aforesaid this 4th day of April 1848.

I E Beecher

A Salisbury

W Southwick - Inspectors of Elections

E M Anderson

Voted – that this meeting do stand adjourned until the first Tuesday in April 1849 then to be held at the Nottinghams Hotel Kept by William P Nottingham

I E Beecher

Ambrose Salisbury

W H Southwick – Inspectors of Election