1851 Town of Palmyra Minutes

At the annual Town Meeting of the Town of Palmyra held pursuant to adjournment at the House of Francis Bortles in the Village of Palmyra on Tuesday the first day of April 1851

Present Presiding Wm. H. Southwick, Frederick Smith, Ambrose Salsbury Justice of the Peace in and for Said Town. P. Sandford Town Clerk

VOTED; that four Constables be elected for the ensuing year

VOTED; that the people of the Town of Palmyra are opposed to any tax to rebuild the public building at Lyons.

VOTED; that our Supervisor be instructed to act in accordance with the above resolutions.

VOTED; that the following erroneous taxes be refunded

To Butterfield and Walker \$11.52, to Isaac E. Beecher \$7.68, to Frederick Morly \$1.11, to Wm. Walton \$3.84, They having been assessed the above amounts on personal property sworn off by them but not crossed from ? through neglect.

To Samuel Past one dollar and twenty cents assessed twice

To Joseph Johnson two dollars assessed on Slutts

VOTED that ten cents bounty be paid on Crorrs? Between the first of April and the first day of July.

VOTED that our Supervisor be instructed to process the passage of a law taxing all dogs VOTED that when this meeting adjourns it be adjourned to the first Tuesday in April next at the Bunker Hill Hotel at eight o'clock A.M.

The Town Clerks Report of Bills audited funds on had was read and accepted.

The Report of Commissioners of Highway to Town auditors and estimates for repairs on bridges amounting to Three hundred and Twenty five dollars was read and accepted and agreed to.

VOTED that Two Hundred Dollars in addition be raised for the purpose of constructing a bridge over Red Creek near William Durfees.

The following named persons having received the greatest number of votes where declared duly elected to the several and respective offices for which they are respectively names To wit. Supervisor----Pomroy Tucker, Town Clerk----Henry S. Flower, Assessor----Jared D. Rogers, Justice of the Peace----Isaac E. Beecher, to fill vacancy, Ambrose Salsbury, Full Term, Comm. Of Highway-----Samuel Miller Jr., Inspectors of Elections in District No. 1, William H. Cuyler and Charles C. Turber, Inspectors of Elections in District No. 2, Durfee A. Sherman and Isaac G. Hudson, Overseer of the Poor---Elisha Flowers, Collector----Albert G. Myrick, Town Sealer----Wm. L. Parke, Constables----Francis Bortles, Charles B. Bingham, Chaincy Cummins, Charles Hudson

The following names persons where duly chosen Pathmasters? overseer of Highways in and for the respective districts to which they are names:

District No. 1 William F. Parke, No. 2 William Walker, No.3 Charles Johnson, No.4 Francis Praper, No.5 Eason Cornell, No.6 J. D. Rogers, No.7 Peter D. Taylor, No. 8 Hiram Foster No. 9 Albert Hathaway, No.10 Geo. Harrison, No.11 Geo. Pooly, No.12 Josiah Nottingham, No.13 Richard Broomfield, No.14 Samuel Sherman, No.15 Stephen Broomfield,

No.16 Hiram Chapman, No.17 John Philips, No.18 Isaac Horrell, No.19 Caleb Beal

No.20 Henry Post, No.21 Perry Parker, No.22 Orlanda Stoddard, No.23 Adam Rutherford

No.24 John Curtis, No.25 Mark Hollister, No.26 Sidney Hicox, No.27 Brazilla Smith

No.29 Franklin Laky, No.30 Charles D. Foster, No.31 Moses Hill, No.32 James Goodwin

No.33 Osborn Sherman, No.34 Edwin Stacy, No.35 Syrenas Jagger, No.36 John Feller, No.37 John Jillet, No.38 Edwin Curtis, No.40 J. C. Pettit

We the board of Town offices of the Town of Palmyra at the annual Town meeting held therein on the first day of April 1851 do certify that we have and hereby appoint the following named persons to the Inspectors of Election respectively in the Two Election Districts of said town To wit. Samuel Palmer to be one of the inspectors of election in and for district No. one and Darius Pullman to be one of the inspectors of election in and for district No. two in the town of Palmyra aforesaid the said Samuel Palmer and Darius Pullman having received the greatest number of votes for inspectors of election next to the inspectors duly elected by the people. Frederick Smith, Wm. H. Southwick, Ambrose Salsbury Justices of the Peace Perigrine Sanford Town Clerk

I certify the preceding to be a true copy of the original minutes on file in this office April 2, 1851 Perigrine Sanford Town Clerk Wayne County

Town of Palmyra

By virtue of the power vested in the Commissioners of Highways of said town and pursuant to the statute in such care, made and provided, We do by there presents appoint the following named persons as overseers of highways in and for town district No. 17 and 24 to supply the vacancies occasioned by the refusal of John Phillips No.17 and John Curtis No.24 to serve To wit: Marqruis D. Cole District No.17 and Wm. R. Johnson District No.24 Palmyra May 9 1851 Jas. P. Horton and Saml. Miller Jr. Com. Of Highways A true copy of the original on file in this office H. S. Flower Town Clerk