## 1857 Palmyra Town Meeting Minutes

At the annual Town Meeting of the Town of Palmyra held pursuant to adjournment at the Eagle Hotel kept by Wm. Doran, March 3<sup>rd</sup> 1857 Present presiding, Ambrose Salisbury, James Peddie, Geo. G. Jessup, J. W. Corning, Justices of the Peace and H. S. Flower Town Clerk

VOTED That the Supervisors report be accepted and adopted

VOTED That the Report of the Commissioners of Highways be accepted and adopted VOTED That Seven hundred and Fifty dollars be raised in addition to the Two hundred and Fifty dollars allowed by law to meet repairs and indebtedness incurred building Bridges VOTED That the Commissioners of Highways be and they are here by directed and required in case of neglect on the part of any overseer of Highways to perform his duties according to law or fail to have all the work of his district laid out as assessed to prosecute the delinquent overseers to the end that the public interests be properly promoted

VOTED That Wm. Doran be allowed Ten dollars for the use of his house at the Town Meeting VOTED That this Town Meeting do adjourn to meet at Wm. Doran Hotel next year on the day appointed by law at nine o'clock A. M.

The following named persons having received the greatest number of votes are declared duly elected to the several offices for which they are respectively named to wit

Arovestus P. Crandall---Supervisor, Enos Pomeroy---Justice of the Peace, David Rogers---Overseer of the Poor, Hendee Parshall---Assessor, Jeremiah Phillips---Coms. Of Highways, Samuel Palmer---Collector, Charles J. Ferrin---Town Clerk, Asher S. Cray, Samuel Adams, Conway P. Clark, Samuel Palmer---Constables, Luther M. Chase & Edwin E. Rogers---Inspectors of Election for District No 1, Albert Hathaway & Darius Pulmam---Inspectors of Election District No 2

The following named persons were duly chosen overseers of the Highways in and for the respective Road districts to which they are named to wit

Districts No. 1 Burton Foster, No. 2 James Galloway, No. 3 Merritt Sherman, No. 4 Joseph Wilcox, No. 5 Thos. Galloway, No. 6 I. D. Rogers, No. 7 James Walton, No. 8 A. Salisbury, No. 9 James Clark, No. 10 Geo. Harrison, No. 11 Charles Grant,

No. 12 Geo. W. Smith, No. 13 Richard Bromfield, No. 14 Jothan Post, No. 15 Avery Durfee, No. 16 Hosea B. Lay, No. 17 Wm. Vanalstyne, No. 18 Benj. Hartman,

No. 19 Thomas Hope, No. 20 F. Rowley, No. 21 Marvin Hill, No. 22 Lorenzo Warner,

No. 23 Moses F. Hamm, No. 24 Hendee Parshall, No. 25 Asa K. White, No. 26 Robt. Shultis, No. 27 Monroe Hammond, No. 28 none, No. 29 Abrm. J. Carle, No. 30 Austin Reeves, No. 31 Thos. Rioneer, No. 32 Geo. Smith, No. 33 James Reeves,

No. 34 Maltby Clark, No. 35 Cyreinus Jagger, No. 36 Franklin Reeves, No. 37 Joel Gillett, No. 38 R. Plympton, No. 40 Wm. J. Pettitt

We the Board of Town Officers of the Town of Palmyra at the annual Town Meeting held therein on the 3<sup>rd</sup> day of March 1857 do certify that we have and so hereby appoint the following named persons to be Inspectors of Election respectively in the two Election Districts in said town to wit.

Hiram Van Duzen one of the Inspectors of Election for District No 1 in said Town of Palmyra and Thos. S. Hooper one of the Inspectors of Election in District No 2 in Palmyra aforesaid. The said Hiram Van Duzen and the said Thos. S. Hooper having received the greatest number of votes for Inspectors of Election for the respective Districts to which they were named, next to

the Inspectors duly elected by the people, Given under our hands at Palmyra this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of March 1857 A. Salisbury, Jas. Peddie, Geo. G. Jessup, J. W. Corning Justices of the Peace Henry S. Flower Town Clerk

I certify the above to be a true copy of the minutes now on file in this office H. S. Flower Town Clerk