1868 Annual Town Meeting Minutes

At the annual Town Meeting held at the Village Hall in the Village of Palmyra in and for the Town of Palmyra on the 3rd day of March 1868 pursuant to adjournment.

Present Presiding: M. C. Finley, John A. Holmes, Wm. H. Southwick, James Reeves, Justices, Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

At 8 o'clock A.M. the polls of the Town Meeting were declared opened by proclamation and the Electors proceeded to vote-

VOTED That the Supervisors report, as read be accepted and adopted

VOTED That the report of the Highway Commissioners be accepted

A motion was made to raise \$1500.00 to build a new bridge across the Gauargua river Near the house of Joel R. Foster was lost.

The following resolution was read, accepted and adopted,

Resolved That the sum of Five Hundred dollars be raised by tax upon this town and paid to Conway Clark as compensation for damages to himself his wife and team by the following of an insecure bridge on the public highway in the eastern part of the town.

At 2 o'clock P.M. the following named persons were duly chosen overseers of Highways for the ensuing year:

Districts No.1 George Capron, No.2 Ambrose Beal, No.3 George Laird, No.4 E. G.

Chapman, No.5 Thomas Galloway, No.6 George Smith, No.7 Allen T. Goldsmith,

No.8 Henry J. Foster, No.9 Dennis Clark, No.10 Nelson Reeves, No.11D. H. Chapman,

No.12 Jacob Stupplebeen, No.13 John Jordan, No.14 Sylvester Feffer,

No.15 Jas. A. Shaw, No.16 Harmon Chapman, No.17 Myron H. Avery,

No.18 Isaac Horrell, No.19 Jay Putnam, No.20 William Rose, No.21 Wm. Durfee,

No.22 Lorenzo Warner, No.23 Chas. Shirtz, No.24 Hendee Parshall,

No.25 Abram Stearns, No.26 Samuel Miller, No.27 Barzilla Smith, No.28 John Walton, No.29 none, No.30 Gilbert Reeves, No.31 Thomas Chapman(pencil line thru his name), No. 32 James Smonlton, No.33 James Reeves, No.34 Matlby Clark, No.35 Wm. Fisher, No.36 H. K. White, No.37 John Gillette, No.38 Chas. Curtis, No.39 none,

No.40 Jas. M. Hammond, No.41 Norman Lapham

We the undersigned officers presiding at the annual town meeting held pursuant to adjournment at the Village Hall in the Village of Palmyra in and for the Town of Palmyra, Wayne County State of New York on the 3rd day of March 1868, We certify that the following persons were duly elected to the respective offices set opposite their names they having received the greatest number of votes for each of the said offices respectively Charles D. Johnson---Supervisor, Wm. W. Myrick---Town Clerk, Murganzy Hopkins---Justice, Jeter Warner---Assessor, Edwin E. Rogers---Com. Of Highways, Isaac Besley---Overseer of Poor, Edgar W. Cummings---Collector, James Kelly,

John w. Randall, Lewis D. Clark & Henry C. Wood---Constables, Elijah Ennis & Samuel B.

McIntyre---Inspectors of Election District No.1, William C. Beal & Peter C. Howell---Inspectors of Election District No.2, Joseph S. Williamson---Town Sealer

And that the forgoing minutes of said Town Meeting are in all respects correct Dated March 3rd 1868

Wm. H. Southwick, M.C. Finley, John A. Holmes & James Reeves, Justices Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

We the undersigned, presiding officers of the annual Town Meeting held in the town of Palmyra on the 3rd day of March 1868, do hereby appoint Wm. H. Bump in Election Dist.

No.1 and J. H. Post in Election Dist. No.2 in said town inspectors of Election in said districts respectively to be associated with the two in each of said districts respectively who have this day been Elected inspectors of Election for the ensuing year.

The said Wm. H. Bump and J. H. Post each being one of the persons who received at said town meeting the highest number of votes respectively for said office of inspector mext to the inspectors so elected.

Dated Palmyra Mar. 3rd 1868

Wm. H. Southwick, M. C. Finley, John A. Holmes, & James Reeves, Justices Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

I do hereby certify that the above is a correct copy, of the original minutes on file in this office. Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

At a special meeting of the Board of town Auditors held at the Village Hall Tuesday, Oct. 13, 1868-Present : Wm. H. Southwick, M. C. Finley, & John A. Holmes, Justices, Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

On motion of John A. Holmes Gilbert H. Reeves was appointed an Inspector of Election for Election District No.2 to fill vacancy caused by J. H. Post refusing to serve.

Wm. H. Southwick, M. C. Finley & J. A. Holmes Justices

Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

I certify the above to be a true copy of the original on file in this office.

Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

At a meeting of the Board of Town Auditors held at the office of Peddie & Finley Thursday Nov. 5th 1868 Present:

Chas. D. Johnson, Supervisor, M. C. Finley, Wm. H. Southwick & James Reeves, Justices Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk

On motion, voted, that the Highway Commissioners be authorized to borrow three hundred & fifty dollars (\$350.) for the purpose of rebuilding and repairing bridges

The following resolution was offered and passed, Resolved That the Overseer of Poor be advised to discontinue the suit against Robert Hale upon his paying the costs of the ten dollars and his on expenses.

Chas. D. Johnson, Supervisor, Wm. W. Myrick, Town Clerk, M. C. Finley, Wm. H. Southwick & James Reeves Justices

I certify the above to be a correct record of proceedings.

Wm. W. Myrick Town Clerk